Government Reviews Curfew Hours in Kisumu and 12 Other Counties, Restricts Movement


The government has announced revised Covid-19 containment measures for the counties of Busia, Vihiga, Kisii, Nyamira, Kakamega, Bungoma, Kericho, Bomet, Trans Nzoia, Kisumu, Siaya, Homa-Bay and Migori.

In a statement on Thursday, May 17, Health CS Mutahi Kagwe said the hotspot counties constituted 60 percent of the national Covid-19 caseload.

Curfew within the 13 counties shall be observed between 7p.m. and 4a.m. daily, except for essential and emergency services.

All cross-border cargo drivers shall be required to possess a valid certificate indicating a negative COVID-19 test that was conducted no more than 48 hours before commencing their journey, and each cargo truck shall be limited to only two persons per vehicle.

Weekly non-food and livestock markets in the hotspot zone have been suspended for a period of 30 days.

Also, all funerals and interment ceremonies within the hotspot zone shall be conducted within 72 hours of confirmation of death while night vigils and overnight processions prior to funerals are prohibited until further notice.

All forms of physical/congressional worship (churches, mosques, temples and shrines) in the hotspot counties have been suspended for a period of 30 days.

“All employers including the public and private sector, government offices, businesses and companies in the Hotspot Zone are advised to allow employees to work from home, with the exception of employees working in critical or essential services,” Kagwe said.

Download our app from play store and get updates everyday for FREE. Press the button below.

What do you think of this post?
  • Awesome (0)
  • Interesting (0)
  • OMG (0)
  • Boring (0)
  • Woooi!! (0)
  • SAD (0)