Government Shuts Down 30 Unregistered Schools in Nakuru

Education CS George Magoha

The government has shut down 30 learning institutions in Nakuru Town West constituency for operating without a Ministry of Education registration document.

The move has affected 1,000 pupils in nursery and primary schools. The institutions shut down are three primary schools and 27 early childhood development centres.

“By not being registered means the institutions have not been captured in the National Education Management Information System and therefore the learners cannot be registered for national examinations,” Lesimam said.

Lesimam faulted the closed schools for having substandard building structures. He cited an incident in Precious Talent School in September 2019 in which a classroom collapsed. Seven students died from the accident.

He dismissed pleas by parents to allow the pupils continue with learning, saying it is better to address the problem now than wait until the matter gets out of hand.

The commissioner added that the students from the affected schools would be taken to nearby institutions in order to continue with their learning.


Download our app from play store and get updates everyday for FREE. Press the button below.

What do you think of this post?
  • Awesome (0)
  • Interesting (0)
  • OMG (0)
  • Boring (0)
  • Woooi!! (0)
  • SAD (0)