Uhuru Announces Four vacancies in IEBC

President Uhuru Kenyatta
President Uhuru Kenyatta

President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced four vacancies in the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), in a gazette notice dated April 14.

For almost two years, the IEBC has been operating with only three commissioners out of the maximum seven with no substantive CEO.

chairman is Wafula Chebukati sits with commissioners Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye.

The three were left after the resignation of colleagues Roselyn Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Margaret Mwachanya, and Connie Maina.

Akombe resigned days before the repeat of the presidential election on October 26, 2017 while Vice-chairperson Maina, Mwachanya and Kurgat quit in April 2018.

The Building Bridges Initiative report had recommended a total overhaul of the electoral agency with the secretarial staff undergoing fresh vetting ahead of the 2022 general elections.

The BBI task force said that political parties should have a say on who becomes commissioners, a recommendation that was rejected by Deputy President William Ruto and ANC leader Musalia Mudavadi.

President Uhuru Kenyatta
President Uhuru Kenyatta

Download our app from play store and get updates everyday for FREE. Press the button below.

What do you think of this post?
  • Awesome (0)
  • Interesting (0)
  • OMG (0)
  • Boring (0)
  • Woooi!! (0)
  • SAD (0)